1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

You’re Living Inside My Head – John Ireland

You’re Living Inside My Head – John Ireland (And here’s the bill for your rent)

John Ireland, Thinking Aloud (South African pressing) 1978

John Ireland, Thinking Aloud

People my age probably only liked John Ireland, but those a few years older had him living inside their heads, and for the slightly younger of us, we were a little taken aback at the pounding disco beat that emanated from our speakers once we stopped tittering at the suggestiveness of ‘I Like…’ and tracked down Mr Ireland’s earlier hit.

‘You’re Living Inside My Head’ blends an old tune (Greensleeves – remember that one from 1580?)  with sci-fi whistling sounds and mirror ball spinning  beats to create a floor-filler that incorporates both space and time. Ireland’s voice varies between almost whispered and at times somewhat creepy as he ‘Think(s) of you so much, you must be living inside my head’. He also manages to add a confident ‘big brother’ commanding tone that gives an overall edgy effect that leaves one feeling slightly ill at ease, yet intrigued.

The song peaked at Number 8 on the SA Top 20 in 1978 and remains one of the great SA disco tunes of the late 70’s. It’s hard to imagine King Henry VIII to whom Greensleeves is (wrongly according to Wikipedia) attributed, strutting his stuff in his white suit to this song, but I think I can picture Anne Boleyn pulling him onto the dancefloor saying, ‘You have to dance to this.’

John Ireland, Thinking Aloud (German pressing) 1978

John Ireland, Thinking Aloud (German pressing) 1978

Where to find it:

Thinking Aloud – John Ireland (1978), Teal, JIC9999 (vinyl only, unreleased on CD)
Disco Fever – Various Artists (July 1999), Gallo, CDREDD 627 (Out of print, so you may struggle)

Disco Fever

Disco Fever

Website:

John Ireland at the SA Rock Encyclopedia

Video:

Single Edit Version

Full Length Album Version

 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “You’re Living Inside My Head – John Ireland

  1. Reblogged this on Brian Currin and commented:

    One of my all-time favourite South African songs.

  2. Gerard Fennell on said:

    This is one of my fave SA songs as well but the radio stations always seemed to push the flip-side of that single “I like” which was never in the class as this one.

    • Gerard, I am not aware of ‘I Like’ being the flipside of ‘You’re Living Inside My Head’. Both songs were released as separate singles and both made the Springbok Charts, ‘You’re Living Inside My Head’ in 1978 and ‘I Like’ in 1982. However, it does seem that ‘I Like’ has been remembered by the Radio Station more so than ‘You’re Living…’

  3. Werner Olivier on said:

    What happened to John Ireland? Is his still in South Africa? Where can you find his music on cd? This man was excellent.The song “Revelation”is giving me shivers till this day.It was released in 1980.
    Kind regards.

    • As far as I know, John is still living in SA and is a practicing dentist. None of John’s albums have been released on CD and I have heard that it is John himself who is blocking this. ‘You’re Living Inside My Head’ and ‘I Like’ have appeared on some compilation CDs, but that’s about it.

    • Mike Tanski on said:

      I wish I knew, I also liked it. My late sister knew him when she was at med school.

  4. Dawie Wilson on said:

    Nicole is one of my all time favourites. Would love to get it on mp3. Brings back many good memories whilst i was in the army in 1977 when i met a special girl in De Aar!

    • Tino Pinheiro on said:

      Hey, Dawie. “Nicole” is a beautiful, haunting song and one of my favourites. I found it on YouTube and converted to MP3. PERFECT!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

