1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

Raising My Family – Steve Kekana

Raising My Family – Steve Kekana (Parental warning)

Raising My Family – Steve Kekana

Raising My Family – Steve Kekana

Steve Kekana was probably best known in South Africa for his hit singles, ‘The Bushman’ and ‘Feel So Strong’, the latter of which was sung in collaboration with PJ Powers and Hotline. However, before white South Africa woke up to this talent, he was making waves abroad with ‘Raising My Family’ which was off his 1981 album ‘Don’t Stop The Music: Ungavumbi Zomculo’. The song went to number 2 in Finland, number 3 in Sweden and number 7 in Switzerland.

Kekana lost his sight when he was only 5 years old and, in a way, was the Stevie Wonder of South Africa, a talented and successful vocalist, overcoming the problems life had thrown at him. Singing in a distinctive falsetto voice, his early music was reggae tinged melodic pop set to a bouncy, post disco dance beat. There was also a tinge of the township jive to the music, but it was sufficiently ‘white’ to gain an audience outside of those ghettos.

‘Raising My Family’ is a tribute to the family and the support it gives and bounces along at a pleasant pace. Once he had established himself with the white audience, Kekana moved to singing in his native tongue. If the brief Wikipedia entry on him is to be believed, he has released over 40 albums, but I keep returning to the 1981 album and one of his classic tracks, ‘Raising My Family’.

Where to find it:
The English Album – Steve Kekana (2000), Gallo, CDRED630

Great South African Performers – Steve Kekana (2012), Gallo, CDPS 058

Live version: Concert In The Park (CD & DVD) – Various Artists (1985, 2010), BULA, DVDBULA237

Video:

Lyrics:

Raising my family
Raising my family
I really got to be me
Raising my family
In my own direction
In my own direction
Make the reconnection
In my own direction
uuuuh, with my family, uuh yeah

Yes, I’m gonna be OK
I guess, I’m gonna be alright
With my family here beside me
My family is here to guide me
Yes, I’m gonna be OK
I guess, I’m gonna be alright
With my family here beside me, day and night
uuh yeeah…. mmmh.. yehi yeah

Raising my family
Raising my family
I really got to be me
Raising my family
In my own direction
In my own direction
Make the reconnection
In my own direction
uuuuh, with my family, uuh yeah

Yes, I’m gonna be OK
I guess, I’m gonna be alright
With my family here beside me
My family is here to guide me
Yes, I’m gonna be OK
I guess, I’m gonna be alright
With my family here beside me, day and night
yeaah mmmm my family.. mmm..

Yes, I’m gonna be OK
I guess, I’m gonna be alright
With my family here beside me
My family is here to guide me
Yes, I’m gonna be OK
I guess, I’m gonna be alright
With my family here beside me, day and night

(Written by Tom Vuma & Malcolm Watson)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Raising My Family – Steve Kekana

  1. Renske Saayman on said:

    I enjoy listening to Steve’s music its very inspiring nd I’m proud of what he do.

  2. Not a commentas such, I have waljed the streets of Johannesburg in search Steve album tittled Raising my Family, can anyone help with where to buy that album. I am reacheable on 011447 0663 or 082 545 7663. Thanks from Qhubekani Aleck

Leave a Reply

