1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

Travelling Through The Wild Side – Ras Sheehama

Travelling Through The Wild Side – Ras Sheehama (Wonder if he met Lou Reed on the way)

Ras Sheehama

Ras Sheehama

Usually when you talk reggae in a South African context, Lucky Dube is the name that comes to mind. But it is certainly worth checking out Ras Sheehama if you like your reggae laid back and smooth.

Born in Namibia, Ras spent time in Zambia, Angola and Nigeria before coming to Johannesburg where he hooked up with producer Ian Osrin of the now defunct Digital Cupboard and recorded the album Travelling. ‘Travelling Through The Wilderness’ was the opening track on the album and introduced us to this new reggae talent.

Steeped in the Rastafarian tradition, the song has religious references (‘Johnny the Baptist’ and Daniel in the lion’s den) and is a song of praise to Jah and all he provides. There is a lilt to the rhythm of the song that gives one a sense of travelling on horse (or perhaps camel) back and you may well find yourself rocking gently back and forth to the beat in a similar manner to a horse rider.

Although he has not scaled the heights that Lucky Dube did, Ras Sheehama is possibly the best reggae artists in Southern Africa since the passing of Mr Dube and ‘Travelling…’ is one of his stand out tracks.

Where to find it:

The Great South African Trip – Various Artists (2007), African Cream

Lyrics:

Guidance
Sitting in the evening
Watching the sun go down
But I know by tomorrow
It’s gonna rise again
And if the rain do fall
Before the Midnight hour
Jah lightning will be there
To see me through the darkness yes oh
Ain’t got no sword
Jah Jah is my shepherd
I’m ready for the next day
I’ve got to see the rainbow
Creation will defend I and I
From the season to the next season
I will be like a bird in the sky
I’ve got to feel the wind blowing
Across my wings
I’m like Johnny the Baptist
Coming from the wilderness
I man look so shaggy
Society dem a watching me

Travelling through the wilderness
Travelling through the wild side
Travelling through the wilderness
Lord have mercy
Travelling through the wilderness I a man say
Travelling through the wild side

When I wake up in the mornings
I’m glad to see the sun arising
I’ve got to bow down and say my prayers
Before the day is done
I’m not living in fear
There is no sign of despair
Almighty cares
And his love we shall share
I’m like Daniel
Who gets thrown into the lion’s den
But through the grace of the most high
The man just survived
I’m like Johnny the Baptist
Coming from the wilderness
I man look so shaggy
Society dem a watching me

Travelling through the wilderness
Travelling through the wild side
Travelling through the wilderness
Travelling through the wilderness I a man say
Travelling through the wilderness
I keep on travelling and travelling…
Through the wilderness

(written by Ras Sheehama)

Video:

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

