1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

Like You Madly – Just Jinger

Like You Madly – Just Jinger (Spice up your Like Life!)

Just Jinger - All Comes Round

Just Jinger - All Comes Round

Just Jinger were one of the biggest bands in South Africa during the late 90’s and early 00’s. With their grungy rock, they sparked with the public from their first album ‘All Comes Round’ and went on to tour with bands such as Counting Crows, U2 and Def Leppard.

One of the tracks off ‘All Comes Round’ was the popular ‘Like You Madly’. The song starts with a quiet refrain set against a bare guitar, but quickly builds to the thundering, yet catchy chorus that is largely responsible for its popularity. Art Matthews’ vocals soar and growl while drums pound and guitars howl and yelp in that special way that grunge guitars do.

One could say that the band lack commitment, but that would only be a comment on the lyric ‘I like you madly,’ which suggests that the singer cannot bring himself to admitting actually loving the person, but then, I guess that is part of the appeal of the song. The band later relocated to the US and changed the spelling of its name to Just Jinjer, but we will always have this wonderful gem to remember the start of something great.

Where to find it:

All Comes Round – Just Jinger (1997), Colossal, CDBSP 7011
Something For Now – Just Jinger (1998), Colossal, CDCLL 7020
Greatest Hits – Just Jinger (2001), BMG, CDCLL(CLM)7048
Lyrics:

You look to me like something new
And I wish that I could talk to you
But you seem tied up
So I’ll leave you
To make your mind up
Is it me or you
chorus(x2)
I like you madly, like you madly
All the same
I want you to take my
mind to someplace new
Perhaps not now I’m
not meant for you
Perhaps in time you’ll find a way
That I can call you
and see you again
chorus(x2)
Are you scared to look inside?
Are you scared to read my mind?
Are you scared of what you’ll find?
Don’t be scared, ‘cos I’m alright
I’m alright
chorus(x2)

(written by Art Matthews)

Video:

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

