1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

Rock ‘n’ Roll Lullaby – Waterloo

Rock ‘n’ Roll Lullaby – Waterloo (Rockin’ the baby to sleep)

Not much known about the band Waterloo. They could have been named after the battle, the station in London or a type of toilet. What I do know is that they took a cover version of a BJ Thomas song to number 9 in the SA Top 20 in 1972. BJ only managed to get to number 15 in the US with his version (although probably shifted loads more units in doing so)

This country tinged, laid back song is more lullaby than rock n roll and is about a young single mother (were we allowed single mothers back in 1972? I can’t remember) bringing up a child and would calm the child and herself by calling upon a fifties throw back bunch of greasers – ‘Sha-na-na-na-na, na-na-na-na’.

There is not much to choose between Waterloo and BJ’s version. However Waterloo do add a nice backing vocal to the chorus which is slightly reminiscent of Charisma’s ‘Mammy Blue.’

Where to find it:

2nd hand singles bins

Lyrics:

She was just sixteen
And all alone when I came to be
So we grew up together
Our mama-child and me
Now things were bad and she was scared
But whenever I would cry
She’d calm my fear and dry my tears
With a rock and roll lullaby

And she’d sing
Sha-na-na-na-na, na-na-na-na
It’ll be all right
Sha-na-na-na-na, na-na-na-na
Just hold on tight
Sing it to me, mama
My, my, my, my, mama
Sing it sweet and clear
Oh mama, let me hear
That old rock and roll lullaby

[Instrumental Interlude]

We made it through the lonely days
But, Lord, the nights were long
And we’d dream of better mornin’s
When mama sang a song
Now I can’t recall the words at all
It don’t make sense to try
‘Cause I just knew lotsa love came through
In that rock and roll lullaby

And she’d sing
Sha-na-na-na-na, na-na-na-na
It’ll be all right
Sha-na-na-na-na, na-na-na-na
Just hold on tight
I can hear ya, mama
My, my, my, my mama
Nothin’ moves my soul
Like the sound of the good old
Rock and roll lullaby

(Written by Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil)

Video:

Waterloo:


BJ Thomas:

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Rock ‘n’ Roll Lullaby – Waterloo

  1. Also covered by Pierre De Charmoy in 1983.

  2. One of my favourite songs from the early 70’s. I remember my dad had the sheet music for this song!

  3. Had a listen – really great but not a patch on BJ’s version…

  4. Alexandre on said:

    Hi. Did you have to post? This same group.
    The SOMETHING REAL song. recorded in 1972, if possible. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

