1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

You’re So Good To Me – Hotline

You’re So Good To Me – Hotline (No it wasn’t by Bonnie Tyler)

Hotline - Burnout

Hotline - Burnout

One thing that set Hotline apart for most rock bands of the early eighties was the incredible voice of PJ Powers and this was evident from their debut album ‘Burnout’ from which ‘You’re So Good To Me’ comes from. The soaring chorus of this power ballad propelled the song to number 8 in the Springbok Radio top 20 during the first few months of 1982 and thus began a long career for the band and in particular PJ Powers.

After their initial success as a pure rock band, Hotline began to incorporate the African rhythms and sounds and were so successful with this that it is easy to forget their rock roots. Of their early work, this track is perhaps only surpassed by the sublime cover of the Beatles’ ‘Help’, but as an original composition it was one of the stand out South African songs of the 80s.

Where to find it:

The Best Of P.J. Powers & Hotline – P.J Powers & Hotline (1991) Mike Fuller Music Records, PJCD300

Lyrics:

Don’t Be Angry when you hear what I got to say
You asked the truth, so here it really is
You asked me if there would be a tiny possibility
To be alone one night just you and me

I’m not supposed to be in love with you
I’m not supposed to be in love with you
But I am

Oh baby baby
You’re so good to me
And everything you do is real
You’re so good to me
I just want you to know
How I feel

Don’t start a romance when you know the end will just be sad
Leaving now, the hurt won’t be so bad
Please turn around from here
Walk away and don’t look back
There’s nothing left to offer you and me

I’m not supposed to be in love with you (oh no no no no no)
I’m not supposed to be in love with you
But I am

Oh baby baby
You’re so good to me
And everything you do is real
You’re so good to me
And every thing that you do
Makes me feel so good

I’m not supposed to be in love with you (oh no no no no no)
I’m not supposed to be in love with you
But I am

Oh baby baby
You’re so good to me
And everything you do is real
You’re so good to me
I just want you to know
How I feel

(Written by PJ Powers)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

