1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

You Ask Me To – Bobby Angel

You Ask Me To – Bobby Angel (Crazy Fool)

The Heart & Soul Of Bobby Angel

The Heart & Soul Of Bobby Angel

One of the stalwarts of the healthy South African country music scene, Bobby Angel was in good company when he recorded a cover version of Waylon Jennings/Billy Joe Shaver song ‘You Ask Me To’ – Elvis Presley had recorded a version a year earlier. In more modern times Alison Krauss (she who made that amazing album with Robert Plant) has also
regarded the song good enough to cover.

It’s a simple love song, showing the devotion of the singer to the loved. Bobby took his version into the Springbok Radio charts in January 1975 and ended up topping the charts in March. His smooth baritone voice wraps itself warmly around a simple bass guitar line, while a harpsichord (real or synthesized) tinkles around him. This is SA country in its prime.

Where to find it:
The Heart & Soul Of Bobby Angel – Bobby Angel GSP, CDREDD 640
Somebody Like You (re-recorded version in a medley with Green Eyed Angel)

Cover version:
Houlson Twins

Lyrics:

Long ago and far away
In my old common labour shoes
I turned the world all which-a-way
Just because you asked me to

Likened to no other feel
Summer love is simple true
There’s no end to what I’d do
Just because you asked me to

Let the world call me a fool
But if things are right with me and you
That’s all that matters and I’ll do
Anything you ask me to

Knowin’ how much I love you
After all I’ve been through
I’d turn and walk away from you
Just because you asked me to

Let the world call me a fool
But if things are right with me and you
That’s all that matters and I’ll do
Anything you ask me to

Let the world call me a fool
But if things are right with me and you
That’s all that matters and I’ll do
Anything you ask me to

(Written by Waylon Jennings & Bill Joe Shaver)

Videos:
Bobby Angel:
Waylon Jennings version:
Elvis Presley version:

Billy Joe Shaver Version:

Alison Krauss version:

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “You Ask Me To – Bobby Angel

  1. listening 2 bobby z all i can do wen im stressd…i so luv dat soulfull voice n lyrics,

  2. Bob Balser on said:

    Does anyone know of an importer of SA CDs in the UK? I’m after Bobby Angels latest CD “One For The Road”

Leave a Reply

