1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

Afrikaners Is Plesierig – Karen Zoid

Afrikaners Is Plesierig – Karen Zoid (Dit sal jy glo when you heard this)

Poles Apart by Karen Zoid

Poles Apart by Karen Zoid

Before Karen Zoid, we did not have a proper Afrikaans Rock chick, then she suddenly burst on the scene in 2001 with her debut album ‘Poles Apart’. One of the stand out tracks on this was ‘Afrikaners Is Plesierig’ which was almost a war cry against the image that all Afrikaners listened to was Cora Marie and Sonja Herholdt.

Karen had it all, attitude, looks, and a slightly husky with a hint of Janis Joplin voice. She also had her finger firmly on the pulse of what was happening as the New South Africa was casting off its nappies and starting to take those first few unsteady steps and everyone was beginning to understand where they fitted in.

It’s hard to believe that a decade has already passed since we first hear the cry of ‘babe is jy nog life vir my’ thundering  from our speakers, but that thunder has kept rolling and, still sounding as fresh today, we can aswer, ja Karen, we are.

Where to find it:

Poles Apart – Karen Zoid (June 2001), EMI, CDEMCD5938
Ultimate Zoid – Live in Concert (live version) – Karen Zoid (2008), Just Music
Barney Simon’s Radio Revolution – Various Artists (2010), Rebel Records

Early version by Die Kampvuursangers:
Afrikana – Tradisionele Afrikaanse Liedjies Volume 2 – Various Artists (2009), Next Music

Lyrics:

I’d like to introduce myself – Johanna Ertjekollo
And this is the alternative – You was so saf ‘n molo
Haai jy, loop verby – Is mos decadent
Peace brother, give me five of suig jou peperment

Jy’s cool, jy spoel jou mond met Aquafresh
En leer mos al van hip-hop in jou ma se crèche
Ja this is alternative but we’re not primitive
Some het nog hare op hul lyf but we just like to live in peace

Ekskuus, mevrou, wat gaan nou aan?
Ek wil net weet of is die Internet dan nou te blaam
Oeps! Jou naam, jou naam. I understand madame
Ek ken mevrou, jy’s een van daai’s
Jy is so bietjie skaam

Chorus:

Afrikaners is plesierig
Dit kan julle glo
Hulle hou van partytjie
En dan maak hulle so
En dan maak hulle so…

Babe is jy nog lief vir my
Ek gaan iemand anders kry
Luister hier jou yuppie scum
Jou preconceived millennium man
Ek maak jou kwaad want ek weet ek kan
Gee my nog ‘n vatlap government plan

En die bedelaar staan met sy uitsteek hand
En vra my vir net nog twee rand
Mense vrek oor die hele land
En die res lê op Clifton se strand

En die music is vinnig
If you don’t like it, why don’t you take a hike
Almal is anders. Se maar wat jou pla
Hou net op om vrae te vra

Chorus:

Afrikaners is plesierig ….

Babe is jy nog lief vir my
Ek gaan iemand anders kry

I’d like to now excuse myself
Hul sit honde op mense
Ek gaan liewer skape tel
Op radio sonder grense

Ja jy fix my krieket en miskien my rugby
Bobby Skinstad hoe’s daai been?
Ek kyk nie Currie Cup nie
Jy’s cool, jy voel ‘n veer vir global warming

Betogers moet iets anders doen
Pamflette lees is boring
Alles is affirmative,
al is jou baas verwant

Kant sou ook geen kant kon kies
So swot maar wyl jy kan
Die bank, die bank, die bank vra te veel rente
Ek speel maar eerder pinball met my 50 sente

Ek het nie pms nie, ek’s net ‘n natural bitch

Chorus:

Afrikaners is plesierig….

(Written by Karen Zoid)

Video:

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Afrikaners Is Plesierig – Karen Zoid

  1. Pingback: Afrikaners Is Plesierig – Karen Zoid (via 1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf) | Treffers

  2. Pingback: Afrikaners Is Plesierig – Karen Zoid (via 1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf) « Music Fan

Leave a Reply

