1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

The Buccaneer – McCully Workshop

The Buccaneer – McCully Workshop (Rated Arrrr!!)

The Buccaneer – McCully Workshop

The Buccaneer – McCully Workshop

Tully McCully is an relatively unsung hero of South African music. Apart from his work with McCully Workshop, his name appears on numerous South African records sleeves as producer or writer. His Spaced Out Studios are also a popular place for South African music to be recorded.

In 1965 Tully and his brother Mike formed the Blue Three with Richard Hyman. A few name and personnel changes later and McCully Workshop was born. They enjoyed a lot of success and critical acclaim. Then in 1977, they released the album ‘Workshop Revisited’ which featured ‘Buccaneer’ a song about pirates, hidden treasures, yardarms and betrayal. The song quickly climbed to the top of the South African charts and not surprising as it is a great rock track, complete with sing-a-long chorus and imagery that had most school boys swashbuckling with air guitars up and down the country.

The song made its way into the psyche of the country and has remained a firm favourite for many. If you can find it, there is a cover version by a group called Moyawetu. Also look out for the harder edged re-recorded 1988 version featuring Jethro Butow on guitar.

Where to find it:

The Best Of McCully Workshop – McCully Workshop, (2005, re-issued 2010) Fresh Music, Freshcd177
Buccaneer (1998 re-recording) – McCully Workshop (1998) Micmac Sound, MS001
Live! (2008 live version) – McCully Workshop (2008) McCully Music
SA Rock Gold (3cD set) – Various Artists (2010) Universal, TUMGCD100

Lyrics:

Sixteen men on a dead man’s chest
Will I see you tomorrow
Sixteen men and I’ll see the rest
I won’t beg, steal or borrow
I won’t beg, steal or borrow

Well we sailed into the beach
And we were just out of reach
Of the forty-second squadron
When I heard the captain screech

Get down on the sand
Don’t you waste no time
‘Cause we gotta get that gold inside
Before it turns after nine

And the Buccaneer said I’ll see you dead
I’ll see you swinging from the yard arm
The buccaneer sang in a nasal twang
There’s enough gold here to start on
There’s enough gold to get high on

Well the Captain he’d been told
Where they hid away the gold
And he told us to go dig it up
So that he could get it sold

But somebody had taken it
Before his very eyes
And he turned around and looked at me
And much to my surprise

And the Buccaneer said I’ll see you dead
I’ll see you swinging from the yard arm
The buccaneer sang in a nasal twang
There’s enough gold here to start on
There’s enough gold to get high on

Save me! Whoa, oh, oh, save me
Save me from
The Buccaneer

Save me! Whoa, oh, oh, save me
Save me from
The Buccaneer

Well I had to get away
So I swam into the bay
And I could hear him coming up
And I could hear him say

When I get hold of you
You won’t even cry
Cause I’ll string you from the yardarm
And all you’ll do is die

Well they got me on the deck
Put the rope around my neck
And I could feel the sweat break out
And I could feel it stick

But the Royal Navy frigate came
And rescued me at last
She put one across the bow
And fired one into the mast

And the Buccaneer said I’ll see you dead
I’ll see you swinging from the yard arm
The buccaneer sang in a nasal twang
There’s enough gold here to start on
There’s enough gold to get high on

And the Buccaneer said I’ll see you dead
I’ll see you swinging from the yard arm
The buccaneer sang in a nasal twang
There’s enough gold here to start on
There’s enough gold to get high on

(Written by Mike McCullagh)

Video:

Website:

http://mccullyworkshop.co.za

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “The Buccaneer – McCully Workshop

  1. Pingback: The Buccaneer – McCully Workshop (via 1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf) « Music Fan

  2. Llewellyn on said:

    Can anybody remember seeing the band BLUEBEATS(after THE BLUE THREE and before McCULLY’S WORKSHOP) at the BIJOU in OBSERVATORY in the late 60’s.Llewellyn H.

  3. Mike McCullagh on said:

    hey I remember that gig !
    We were scared out of our minds as we were all teenagers and the sight of all these main brekers in the audience was enough to send one off screaming !
    When one huge dude came up to Tully and I we thought he was going to klap us !
    But he shook our hands and said ” you ou’s play great hey !”
    Mike McCully

  4. That is one of my all time faves.

  5. johnny Redelinghuys[Zimbabwe] on said:

    great song that -did you also write Stone Walls?

  6. John Samson on said:

    Stone Walls was written by Ben Findon & J Wilkins and was also recorded by The Dooleys

  7. Dave on said:

    I absolutely love it!

    Thanks Mike for a classic! Puts me in such a good mood when I hear it!

  8. Pingback: Give Me The Good News – Crocodile Harris | 1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

  9. Pingback: Sugar Music News | Give Me The Good News – Crocodile Harris | 1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Leave a Reply

