1001 South African Songs You Must Hear Before You Go Deaf

Just another music list

Perfect Day – Robin Auld

Perfect Day – Robin Auld (Relax Lou, you’re not missing out on Royalties)

The Best Of Vol.1 by Robin Auld

The Best Of Vol.1 by Robin Auld

Despite having the same name as a famous Lou Reed song, this is far closer to Lynyrd’s Skynyrd’s ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ than to the Velvet’s front man’s tune. It’s the swampy blues guitar intro and the optimistic lyrics that place it closer to ‘Sweet Home’.

Robin’s relaxed, husky vocals thread a silky blues feel around the foot-tapping rhythm that sets the song bouncing along on a silver lined cloud. Jam packed with feel good factor, ‘Perfect Day’ will have you smiling in no time and perhaps believing that as you listen to the song, you are having a perfect day.

Where to find it:
The Best Of Robin Auld Vol 1 – Robin Auld (1999) TicTicBang, BANGCD888

Lyrics:

I think it’s going to be a beautiful day
The sky is as blue as the sea
Oh Yeah
I Just want to hear you say
You’ll come with me

Nobody should do something wrong today
Nobody could do something bad, oh no
I just want to hear you say
You want to go

One perfect day
Give me just one perfect day
To see you smile
Makes my heart sail away
You see that I just feel
Under skies of blue
That today’s the day
That you’ll see
That you need me, like I need you

You know that I could never say my mind
And life can sometimes be so hard, it’s true
And I’ve been waiting for so long
So long to get to you

One perfect day
Give me just one perfect day
To see you smile
Makes my heart sail away
You see that I just feel
Under skies of blue
That today’s the day
That you’ll see
That you need me, like I need you

I think it’s going to be a beautiful night
The evening stars in the sky so bright
It would seem such a shame
To go inside

One perfect day
Give me just one perfect day
To see you smile
Makes my heart sail away
You see that I just feel
Under skies of blue
That today’s the day
That you’ll see
That you need me, like I need you

(Written by Robin Auld)

Video:

Website:

http://www.robinauld.co.za

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

